2016 British Sailing Team Prize Giving

Scott claims British Sailing’s Athlete of the Year prize

Written by RYA | 22 November 2016

2016 successes celebrated at team awards evening

Giles Scott claimed top honours at the British Sailing Team’s annual awards this weekend after capping his dominant cycle in the Finn class with Rio 2016 gold.

The Olympic Champion and World Sailor of the Year nominee was named as the team’s Olympic Classes Sailor of the Year and the overall Athlete of the Year at a black tie evening held at Portsmouth’s Royal Marines Museum on Friday (18 November), which celebrated the team’s Rio Games performances as well as achievements by rising talents, coaches and support staff.

Scott himself was unable to attend the evening, on America’s Cup duty in Fukuoaka, Japan, but coach Matt Howard collected Scott’s award on his behalf, as well as his own coaching prize.

Howard claimed the team’s ‘Golden Funnel’ award for coaching excellence for a fourth time for his work with Scott and the Finn squad, while Paralympic bronze and World Championship silver medallists Alexandra Rickham and Niki Birrell were the Paralympic Classes Sailors of the Year.

Laser sailor Michael Beckett was voted by his peers as the Podium Potential Sailor of the Year for 2016, with British Sailing Team members also invited to vote for the colleagues they felt best displayed some of the team’s core values of ‘Passion’, ‘Committed to Excellence’, ‘Collaboration’ and ‘Gold Driven’.

Giles Scott and Laser Radial coach Penny Clark both picked up two core values awards apiece.

“It’s a fantastic evening but it’s also an opportunity to really recognise those people who have been outstanding in committing to the team and helping the team achieve,” said RYA Olympic Manager Stephen Park.

“We’ve had an incredible year taking us to top nation at Rio 2016, but hopefully also that provides some inspiration for those sailors who are going to drive on now to Tokyo in 2020 and beyond.”

The full list of awards winners is below.

British Sailing Team Athlete of the Year & Olympic Classes Sailor of the Year
(additional prize generously donated by Garmin)
Giles Scott - Finn

Paralympic Classes Sailor of the Year
(additional prize generously donated by Harken UK)
Alexandra Rickham & Niki Birrell - SKUD

Podium Potential Sailor of the Year
(additional prize generously donated by Marlow Ropes)
Michael Beckett - Laser

Golden Funnel Award for Coaching Excellence
(additional prize generously donated by Yellow Bikes and Garmin)
Matt Howard – Finn class

Core Values Awards 2016
(additional prizes generously donated by Zhik)

Podium squad winners: Dylan Fletcher (49er) & Lily Devine (Physiotherapist)
Podium Potential winner: Penny Clark (Laser Radial coach)

Committed to Excellence
Podium squad winner: Giles Scott (Finn)
Podium Potential squad winners: James Gray (Laser coach) & Tim Jones (Physiologist)

Podium squad winner: Emilie Thienot (Psychologist)
Podium Potential squad winner: Penny Clark (Laser Radial coach)

Gold Driven
Podium squad winner: Giles Scott (Finn)
Podium Potential squad winner: Tom Squires (RS:X)


Funding Partner

Official Partners

Official Suppliers