Regional Contacts 

There are RYA staff members and volunteers in each English Region and Home Country to support you and your club or training centre.

Contacts

English Regional Development Officers

The RDO's are there to develop regular participation in sailing and windsurfing, and to further improve standards of safety, training and volunteer management at RYA affiliated clubs and recognised training centres.

Region Name Email Address
North West Adam McGovern adam.mcgoven@rya.org.uk
North East Sam Usher sam.usher@rya.org.uk
East Robbie Bell robbie.bell@rya.org.uk
Midlands Gareth Brookes gareth.brookes@rya.org.uk
South Susie Moore rdo.south@rya.org.uk
London & South East



Steve Mitchell steve.mitchell@rya.org.uk
South West Tony Wood tony.wood@rya.org.uk

Other Development Officers





Name Telephone Email Address



Channel Islands



Regional Coach



John Elliott



01481 710877 elliott@cwgsy.net
Army Sailing Association



Sailing Coach
Clive Grant 023 8045 7242 clive.grant937@mod.uk
Army Sailing Association



Windsurf Trainer
Jon Metcalfe 07768 988258 jon.metcalfe928@mod.uk
Royal Navy Wayne Shirley 07786 702143 wshirley1@googlemail.com
RAF Laurie Dengate



coach@dinghy.rafsa.org.uk
Sea Cadets Tye Shuttleworth 07920 767933 tshuttleworth@ms-sc.org

 

Sailability Disability Development Officers

DDO's are responsible for maintaining and developing a healthy network of Sailing Clubs, Centres and Volunteers in their respective regions, through the promotion and implementation of Sailability participation and training programmes.

 Region Name  Telephone Email address
North East & North West Warren Price 07766136704 warren.price@rya.org.uk 
Midlands Brett Cokayne  07823559018 

brett.cokayne@rya.org.uk

 

Eastern Jane Leet 07717091097  jane.leet@rya.org.uk 
South East Sarah Cartwright  07887572246  sarah.cartwright@rya.org.uk 
South & South West Leon Ward  07917193742 

leon.ward@rya.org.uk

 

 

High Performance Managers

The HPM's will be able to give advice on developing talented youth sailors 

Region Name Telephone Email Address
North/ West Chris Blackburn 07909994637 chris.blackburn@rya.org.uk
East/ South East Paul Wren 07909994642 paul.wren@rya.org.uk
South/ South West Chris Atherton 07909994641 chris.atherton@rya.org.uk

There are also High Performance Managers and Regional Development Officers in:

Home Country Website
Wales www.ryacymruwales.org.uk
Scotland www.ryascotland.org.uk
Northern Ireland www.ryani.org.uk

 

Further RYA support for your region

OnBoard Development Officers are spread through out the country working with a partnership of clubs and centres, creating strong school-club links and encouraging regular participation opportunities for young children.

Sailability Development Officers are based within the regions to encourage clubs and centres to become a Sailability Accredited site.

Team15 Co-ordinators are key volunteers who work hard to organise and run the Team15 inter club competitions.

Contact Us

Article Published: September 29, 2009 11:01

Article Updated: February 02, 2016 17:05

 

Use this button to spread the word...