On Saturday 01 March, the winner of the prestigious RYA Club of the Year Award 2014 will be announced at the RYA Suzuki Dinghy Show, Alexandra Palace, London.

The five finalists are:

  • Brightlingsea Sailing Club         
  • Horning Sailing Club         
  • Staunton Harold Sailing Club         
  • Sussex Yacht Club         
  • Ulley Sailing Club

At 16:00 on the main stage, these clubs will collect their finalist awards from British Sailing Team’s Megan Pascoe before the overall winner is revealed by RYA CEO Sarah Treseder.

Selected by the RYA Honours and Awards Panel, the finalists have been judged on on how well they promote the sport, encourage people onto the water and make their activities varied and available to their community.  

RYA Club Support Advisor Jackie Bennetts comments: “The RYA Club of the Year Award recognises and promotes the outstanding achievements of the people who work together to create fantastic vibrant clubs in the UK. It’s an honour to announce the five finalists for 2014.

“Without the on-going support and commitment from individual members, clubs would not exist and certainly would not offer the range or quality of activities which are crucial to the continued success of both clubs and our sport”.  

Special thanks to Gallagher Heath who support the RYA Club of the Year Award and to Sailing Awards who have donated the Club of the Year trophy.

For more information on the awards visit www.rya.org.uk/go/cluboftheyear

To find out more about the show and to book your tickets visit www.dinghyshow.org.uk or call the ticket hotline on 0844 858 9069