More than 140 of the UK and Ireland’s top sailors will take part in the RYA National Team Racing Championship 2013 hosted by West Kirby Sailing Club this weekend (16-17 March).

Twenty four teams will compete against each other in hotly contested, close quarters racing on the Marine Lake for the Prince Philip Trophy.

Teams include Magdalen College School, the winners of the youth event at the RYA Eric Twiname Youth and Junior Team Racing Championships 2012, plus three other schools, seven University teams including last year’s BUSA final winners, Southampton, and some famous names like Itchenor, Rutland, Spinnaker and three Royals - Cork, Forth and Thames.

The coloured sails, short races and expertly executed manoeuvres make watching team racing highly addictive. Nicknamed the theatre of dreams, the marine lake provides the perfect location for this form of racing.

West Kirby Sailing Club will be fielding two teams including the West Kirby Hawks - winners of the ISAF Team Racing World Championships, 2011.

David Taylor, WKSC commodore said: “This event is the top event in the UK team racing calendar, apart from the Wilson Trophy of course which has more of an International perspective.

“We at West Kirby are very proud to have been invited by the UK Team Racing Association to hold this event again and we look forward welcoming all of the teams to the Club and we hope to have some great racing over the two days.

“We have a top team of race officials to keep the event fair including Adam Whittle, Principal Race Officer for the Wilson Trophy, the ISAF Competitions Manager, Jon Napier, the Chairman of the RYA Judges and Umpire Committee, Alan Baser and the Chairman of the RYA Racing Rules Committee, Peter Johnson.”