Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to sub-navigation

Weather & Tides 

On this page: Weather, Tides, Inshore waters forecast, Shipping forecast.

QUICK START – for the new free WxPro precision weather forecaster:

1 - Click on weather icons (hot buttons) to start or restart animation for required parameter.

2 - Zoom using the +/- buttons or +/- on your keyboard or mouse wheel.

3 - Drag map to required area.

4 - Meteogram (graph button) click icon and then click on your required point to display all data for that point in graph format.

5 - Use animation control to step through forecast in native time step.

6 - Use play function to start animation from where you stopped animation.

RYA members get a 20% discount on any subscription weather forecast package from theyr, find out more here

You can also get a free 14-day trial to any subscription weather forecast package from theyr, find out more here 

Filter weather areas by your location

Weather for Southampton Airport

72 hour forecast

Show all 72 hours...

Tides for Southampton

Mon 24 November 2014 LW 05:08 0.8m HW 11:46 4.8m LW 17:29 0.7m
Tue 25 November 2014 HW 00:07 4.7m LW 05:49 0.8m HW 12:26 4.8m LW 18:10 0.7m
Wed 26 November 2014 HW 00:51 4.7m LW 06:32 0.9m HW 13:11 4.7m LW 18:54 0.8m
Thu 27 November 2014 HW 01:40 4.6m LW 07:18 1.1m HW 14:00 4.6m LW 19:42 1.1m
Fri 28 November 2014 HW 02:35 4.5m LW 08:10 1.4m HW 14:58 4.3m LW 20:38 1.3m
Sat 29 November 2014 HW 03:41 4.3m LW 09:14 1.7m HW 16:07 4.2m LW 21:48 1.6m
Sun 30 November 2014 HW 06:15 4.3m LW 10:31 1.8m HW 18:21 4.1m LW 23:06 1.7m
Mon 01 December 2014 HW 07:07 4.3m LW 11:49 1.8m HW 19:13 4.1m
Tue 02 December 2014 LW 00:18 1.6m HW 07:58 4.4m LW 12:56 1.6m HW 20:01 4.2m
Wed 03 December 2014 LW 01:20 1.4m HW 08:39 4.5m LW 13:51 1.3m HW 20:44 4.3m
Thu 04 December 2014 LW 02:12 1.2m HW 09:15 4.5m LW 14:41 1.1m HW 21:27 4.4m
Fri 05 December 2014 LW 03:00 1.1m HW 09:52 4.6m LW 15:27 0.9m HW 22:11 4.4m
Sat 06 December 2014 LW 03:46 0.9m HW 10:33 4.6m LW 16:12 0.7m HW 22:56 4.5m
Sun 07 December 2014 LW 04:31 0.9m HW 11:14 4.6m LW 16:54 0.7m HW 23:43 4.4m
Mon 08 December 2014 LW 05:14 0.9m HW 11:53 4.5m LW 17:37 0.8m
Tue 09 December 2014 HW 02:10 4.5m LW 05:56 1.0m HW 12:31 4.4m LW 18:17 0.9m
Wed 10 December 2014 HW 02:38 4.4m LW 06:36 1.2m HW 13:09 4.4m LW 18:54 1.1m
Thu 11 December 2014 HW 03:11 4.4m LW 07:13 1.4m HW 13:50 4.3m LW 19:28 1.3m
Fri 12 December 2014 HW 03:40 4.3m LW 07:48 1.6m HW 14:34 4.1m LW 20:03 1.5m
Sat 13 December 2014 HW 03:37 4.2m LW 08:25 1.8m HW 15:24 4.0m LW 20:44 1.7m
Sun 14 December 2014 HW 04:24 4.1m LW 09:13 2.0m HW 16:23 3.8m LW 21:38 1.9m
Mon 15 December 2014 HW 05:18 4.0m LW 10:14 2.1m HW 17:37 3.7m LW 22:44 2.0m
Tue 16 December 2014 HW 06:18 4.0m LW 11:20 2.1m HW 18:47 3.7m LW 23:50 2.0m
Wed 17 December 2014 HW 07:19 4.0m LW 12:24 2.0m HW 19:52 3.9m
Thu 18 December 2014 LW 00:51 1.9m HW 08:16 4.1m LW 13:21 1.7m HW 20:46 4.0m
Fri 19 December 2014 LW 01:46 1.6m HW 09:02 4.3m LW 14:13 1.4m HW 21:27 4.2m
Sat 20 December 2014 LW 02:36 1.3m HW 09:39 4.5m LW 15:01 1.1m HW 22:00 4.4m
Sun 21 December 2014 LW 03:23 1.1m HW 10:13 4.6m LW 15:48 0.8m HW 22:34 4.6m
Mon 22 December 2014 LW 04:09 0.9m HW 10:49 4.8m LW 16:33 0.6m HW 23:12 4.7m
Tue 23 December 2014 LW 04:54 0.7m HW 11:29 4.8m LW 17:18 0.5m HW 23:54 4.8m

Show all 30 days...

Inshore waters forecast

Selsey Bill to Lyme Regis

Issued at 05:00 on Wednesday 8 October 2014.

Low pressure will affect the United Kingdom during the next few days, maintaining unsettled and at times windy conditions.

24 hour forecast:

Wind South veering southwest 4 or 5, increasing 6 to gale 8.
Weather Thundery showers.
Visibility Moderate or good.
Sea state Moderate becoming rough.

Outlook for the following 24 hours:

Wind Southwest 6 to gale 8, veering west 4 or 5 later.
Weather Thundery showers.
Visibility Moderate or good.
Sea state Rough, occasionally very rough.

Shipping forecast

General synopsis

Issued at midnight on Wednesday 8 October 2014.

Low just west of Shannon 976 expected Fastnet 983 by midnight tonight. Lows Cromarty and South Utsire both 987 losing their identities by same time. New low expected Forties 986 by that time

Gale warnings: South Utsire, Forties, Dogger, Fisher, German Bight, Humber, Thames, Dover, Wight, Portland, Plymouth, Biscay, Fitzroy, Sole, Lundy, Fastnet, Irish Sea, Shannon, Rockall, Bailey, Faeroes, Southeast Iceland

Area forecast: Humber, Thames, Dover, Wight, Portland, Plymouth, Biscay

Wind South or southwest 6 to gale 8, decreasing 4 at times.
Weather Rain or thundery showers.
Visibility Moderate or good
Sea state Moderate or rough, becoming very rough in west Portland, Plymouth and northwest Biscay.

Wight forecast

Wind South or southwest 6 to gale 8, decreasing 4 at times.
Weather Rain or thundery showers.
Visibility Moderate or good.
Sea state Moderate or rough.