RYA Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is comprised of a mix of non-executive and executive directors and it meets regularly to conduct its business.

The role of the Board is to supervise the management of the Association’s business and to discharge the responsibilities of the directors under the Companies Act and also in compliance with the Code for Sports Governance, which sets out the levels of transparency, accountability and financial integrity that are required from those bodies that receive Government and National Lottery Funding.  RYA Policy Forming Committees report directly to the Board.

The Board will ordinarily comprise four Nominated Directors appointed by the Members and three Independent Directors appointed by the Board who are appointed on the basis of personal competencies, through an open recruitment process. The Chief Executive and Finance Director sit on the Board ex officio.  Members of the Board serve a four year term.

The Board’s main duties are to:

- Develop long term Strategic Plans

- Approve the Annual Operating Plan

- Approve operating budgets

- Set subscription rates

- Supervise risk management and safety matters for the Association.

Its workings are reported to the members of the Association through the Directors’ Report in the annual report and accounts document and at the Annual General Meeting.  

Current Membership of the Board

Chris Preston -  Independent Chair

Christophe Boulanger - Senior Independent Director 

Ronan Harte - Nominated Director

Fiona Kidd - Nominated Director

Katie Snowball - Nominated Director

TBC - Chief Executive  

Dave Strain - Finance Director / Interim CEO 

Board Profiles

The RYA Articles of Association can be found here.

The RYA Board Regulations can be found here.

A Code for SportsGovernance