RYA Scotland Annual Awards

RYA Scotland Annual Awards aims to bring the boating community together and recognise the achievements and commitment of the people and places that make this happen.

The RYA Scotland Annual Awards continues to bring the sailing community in Scotland to together to recognise just some of the achievements and the commitment of people within our sport and the wider activities around boating. Without these people and many more like them our activities would not be possible.  

Many nominators have taken the time to submit excellent and detailed nominations and we are extremely grateful as this often brings to light some inspiring stories from our community.  

RYA Scotland Club of the Year.

The RYA Scotland Club of the Year was integrated as a finalist for the 2020 RYA /Yacht and Yachting Club of the Year and announced as Prestwick Sailing Club atScotland’s Boat Show in October 2019.

The RYA Scotland Club of the Year will go forward to a public vote which opens on the 16th of December and the UKClub of the Year winner will be announced at the RYA Dinghy Show in March 2020.   


The shortlist for the RYA Scotland Annual Awards in 2019 included:

Volunteer of the Year 

John Connelly

Oban SC "Monday Mayhem Team"

Rhona Hamilton

Young Person of year

Ross Bain

Emma Fowler

Dan McGregor 

Instructor of the Year

Galloway Activity Senior Instructor Team

Iain Barbour

Kian Sterritt

Coach of the Year

Anna Sturrock

Matt Morson

Sami Poole 

Elizabeth McKay Award

Laurence Brady

Robyn Phillips

Murray MacDonald

Class Academy Sailor of the Year

Daniel Scott & Tom Irving

Ruaraidh Purves 

William O'Keefe

Performance Sailor of the Year

Ewan Wilson

Eoghan Oosterhoorn

Christine Wood

Performance of the Year

Ruaraidh Scott

Fynn Sterrit

Rory Hunter