At a meeting yesterday (24 February) Defra announced the sites which are under consideration for the second tranche (T2) of Marine Conservation Zones (MCZs) in England.  

37 sites are being considered for inclusion in T2 which cover both inshore and offshore sites right around the English coast.  

Alana Murphy, Planning and Environmental Officer who was present at the meeting said "This list is just an early indication of those sites that might be in the public consultation for the second tranche due to take place early next year, with designation planned to take place by the end of 2015".  

Defra is currently gathering further evidence on the proposed sites and during the year will consult with the different sectors, including the recreational boating sector, on management measures.

Defra plans to include an indication of what the management measures could be and what activities could be restricted in the public consultation.  

"We are pleased that Defra is applying the lessons learned from the first tranche of MCZs and including the management measures in the consultation.  

"However, several of the inshore sites included on this list may be of concern to the RYA, depending on the proposed management measures.  We will now be working with RYA members and clubs to review all the evidence we originally submitted in 2012 and will discuss these concerns with Defra," concludes Alana.  

The first tranche (T1) of 27 MCZs were designated in November 2013 and consideration of management measures for these zones is currently underway.  

Read more information on MCZs and the RYA's position.

Sites under consideration for the second tranche of MCZs

  1. Coquet to St Mary's
  2. Farnes East
  3. Fulmar
  4. Runswick Bay
  5. Compass Rose
  6. Holderness Inshore
  7. Cromer Shoal Chalk Beds
  8. The Swale Estuary
  9. Dover to Deal
  10. Dover to Folkestone
  11. Offshore Brighton
  12. Offshore Overfalls
  13. Utopia
  14. Bembridge
  15. Norris to Ryde
  16. Yarmouth to Cowes
  17. The Needles
  18. Studland Bay
  19. Western Channel
  20. Mounts Bay
  21. Lands End
  22. North-West of Jones Bank
  23. Great Haig Fras
  24. Newquay and The Gannel
  25. Hartland Point to Tintagel
  26. Bideford to Foreland Point
  27. North of Lundy
  28. South of Celtic Deep
  29. Celtic Deep
  30. East of Celtic Deep
  31. Mid St George's Channel
  32. North St George's Channel
  33. Slieve Na Griddle
  34. South Rigg
  35. West of Walney
  36. Mud Hole
  37. Allonby Bay

 Images: Jewel Anemone credit Natural England & Paul Kay. Map Crown Copyright supplied by Defra.