Individuals and organisations whose contribution and achievements have made a real impact to RYA Sailability, have been shortlisted as finalists for the 2019 RYA Sailability Annual Awards.

The Awards recognise RYA Sailability ambassadors, rewarding dedication, commitment and achievement. The 2019 finalists are:

Volunteer of the Year

A volunteer who has given significant time and energy to a specific project, club or centre in 2018.

  • Carol Symons - Hanningfield Sailability
  • James Casaki - Dubai Offshore Sailing Club
  • Pauline Harrison - Rutland Sailability

Sailor of the Year

A sailor(s) who has achieved considerable success or made significant progress on the water in 2018.

  • Bryony Limb - Nancy Oldfield Trust
  • Lindsay Burns - Hansa Worlds 2.3
  • Will Street and Jonny Currell - Para World Champions RS Venture

Team of the Year

A team who by working together, have achieved significant success and raised the profile of what is possible.

  • Whitefriars Sailability
  • Rutland Sailability

Exceptional Contribution

Awarded to someone who, over a considerable period, has shown exceptional commitment and dedication to boating and getting people on the water.

  • Catherine Anne Taylor - Belfast Lough Sailability
  • Gary Lowe - Redesemere Sailing Club
  • Ron Sawford - Hansa Class Association


A new and innovative activity, project or piece of work that has enabled inactive disabled people to become more active.

  • Jon Gamon - The Conway Centre
  • Help for Heroes and Royal British Legion - Invictus Games

Collaboration of the Year

A group or organisation working with a Sailability club or centre that has benefitted all those involved and produced outcomes that could not have been achieved without the collaboration.

  • Peterborough Sailability and the Queensgate Shopping Centre
  • Tideway Sailability and Leonard Cheshire

Winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony and Dinner at the RYA Sailability National Conference at Wyboston Lakes Executive Centre on 16 February 2019.

The Young Person of the Year Award, recognising a young person who has shown significant commitment to boating and progressed not only their own skills and knowledge but encouraged and supported others, will also be announced and presented at the Awards Ceremony.

RYA Sailability Manager, Joff McGill commented: “Thank you to everyone that has taken the time to nominate an entry for the RYA Sailability Awards. We have been overwhelmed by the good work, new initiatives and outstanding achievements that have taken place in 2018. The RYA Sailability programme couldn’t exist without the hard work and dedication of our supporters and it’s an honour to recognise some of the individuals and organisations that make it happen.

“Congratulations to all those that have been shortlisted and I look forward to seeing everyone at the Awards Ceremony and Dinner next year.”