New youngsters (just turning 50) are now swelling the ranks to bring an even more competitive edge to the racing. The bumper turnout was despite a cool, damp forecast but compared to the past two years when it snowed amid strong winds, conditions were easier .

Race one started in a fresh but shifty breeze that allowed last years series winner Mark Fearnley in his Blaze to plane away to take the first bullet. Mark Platt in a Supernova also managed to break free of the main pack to take second place and newcomer to the series Ian Jones in a Laser completed the top three.

After lunch the rain began and steadily increased whilst the wind steadily decreased. From the pin end Dave Woodhead in a Solo and Ian Jones led the fleet from the start, hitting a header which allowed them to cross the fleet. These two pulled away in the fading wind only to throw their lead away by sailing the wrong course!

 They recovered sufficiently for Dave to take the second race and Ian to take third, being split by Richard Catchpole in a Solo in second place.

Race three became a very damp drifting affair. This time a puff of wind from the right hand side of the first beat smiled on some and left others cursing. Ian Jones took full advantage of this to take the race win followed by Richard Catchpole and Andy Flitcroft in a Supernova. This was sufficient to give Ian overall victory on the day.

Top ten on the day- 1  Ian Jones  (Laser)  2  Richard Catchpole (Solo)  3  Dave Woodhead (Solo) 4  Mark Platt (Supernova)  5  Andy Flitcoft (Supernova) 6  Mark Fearnley (Blaze)  7  Dave Turtle (Streaker)  8  Martin Smith and Nicola Gillham (RS 200)  9 Tony Critchley (Supernova) 10  Paul Heath (Laser) Winner of the Over 70 prize was Richard Hemingway in a Solo.

The next event in the series is at Burwain S C on Tuesday 15 May.