The much-anticipated annual event, which will see around 60 boats descend on Itchenor, will be held on the 22nd - 25th August.    

The Mirror Class Nationals is a key date in the sailing calendar and participants can expect to enjoy top class racing as well as a host of social events.    

Itchenor Sailing Club is no stranger to world class sailing. It boasts National, International and Olympic medallists among its members including Ben Saxton and Sophie Ainsworth who have both been selected for Team GB at this year's Olympics in Rio. Ian Walker, winner of the 2014-15 edition of the Volvo Ocean Race, double Olympic silver medallist and double Mirror European Champion, is also a member of the Club and is a former winner of the Mirror Nationals when they were held at Itchenor in 2012.   

The 2012 event attracted over 70 entrants, with an impressive selection of junior and adult sailors attending from across the UK. The event also boasted a fantastic turn out of many of Itchenor's own younger Mirror sailors, which the club is keen to repeat in this year's championships.   

Commodore of Itchenor Sailing Club, Charles Hyatt comments: "We are delighted to host the 2016 Mirror Class National Championships. Itchenor has a very strong heritage in Mirror sailing and the largest racing fleet in the UK, with many of our most successful sailors progressing through junior Mirror racing at ISC. We look forward to welcoming competitors of all ages for high quality racing and a great social programme!"  

Registration to the 2016 Mirror National Championship is now open and participants can enter via SailRacer.   

For more information click here.