MCA Authorisation

With the backing of the Maritime and Coastguard Agency we ensure RYA qualifications are recognised and respected throughout the world

Responsibility for issuing certificates of competence for sail and power vessels is given to the RYA by the British Government through the Maritime and Coastguard Agency (MCA). The MCA is an agency of the Department of Transport.

The RYA is authorised to qualify examiners, provide examinations and issue certificates on behalf of the MCA for the following qualifications:

  • Yachtmaster™ Ocean certificate of competence*
  • Yachtmaster™ Offshore certificate of competence*
  • Yachtmaster™ Coastal* (previously known as Coastal Skipper certificate of competence)
  • Day Skipper Practical certificate*
  • Advanced Powerboat certificate of competence*
  • Powerboat Level 2 certificate*
  • Day Skipper shorebased certificate
  • Coastal Skipper/Yachtmaster™ Offshore shorebased certificate
  • Yachtmaster™ Ocean shorebased certificate
  • Marine Radio Short Range certificate
  • Basic Sea Survival certificate
  • First Aid certificate
  • Diesel Engine certificate
  • International Certificate of Competence for operators of pleasure craft

(*commercial endorsements may be added to these certificates to enable their professional use in relation to UK codes of practice for small commercial vessels.)

The RYA also accredits training centres who provide training towards these qualifications. RYA examinations are conducted independently of the training centres to ensure the integrity of these qualifications.

The RYA regularly meets Government officials at a high level to discuss issues in its maritime sector. The RYA also negotiates internationally on acceptance of its certificates worldwide.