Annual Awards

The RYANI Annual Awards acknowledge the ongoing work and achievements of individuals, volunteers, clubs and organisations from across Northern Ireland.

Each year the RYA Northern Ireland seeks nominations for the Annual Awards.   The awards recognise the outstanding contributions and achievements made by local sailors and bopaters form across Northern Ireland.

The main categories for the awards are;

  • RYA Northern Ireland Chair's Award
  • Club of the Year  
  • Volunteer of the Year  
  • Young Volunteer of the Year  
  • Young Sailor of the Year
  • Young Powerboater of the Year 
  • Instructor of the Year  
  • Club Race Coach of the Year 

The RYA Northern Ireland awards panel will consider nominations that do not fit any of the above categories. 

The RYA Northern Ireland Club of the Year Award winner will automatically qualify as the NI representative for the RYA National Final. All 12 finalist clubs will go through to a public vote with the overall winner selected by RYA members, Yachts & Yachting readers and the Panel. The winner is announced at the RYA Dinghy Show each year.

Young Sailor of the year is nominated through a nomination process carried out by the RYA Northern Ireland Performance Committee.

Awards are normally held early in the year with nominations sought form the previous year.

As part of the RYA National Club of the Year Award, clubs from Northern Ireland can apply. The RYANI Club of the Year is selected locally from these applications and will go forward to represent Northern Ireland in the National Final.

RYA CoTY Awards